Railroad
Town

Get ready to look at the year 1891!

Stuhr Museum’s Living History Community opens Saturday, May 1!

No visit to Stuhr Museum is complete without a visit to Railroad Town, our historic town where we interpret the 1890s.

With historic homes, trades and businesses, Railroad Town features costumed historic interpreters who provide hands-on experiences each time you visit. Railroad Town is all about experiencing the 1890s. Check out our list of daily activities below and have fun exploring!

*Please note – For the safety of our historic interpreters we ask all visitors wear masks inside our historic buildings.

Daily Activities:
  • Thursday, July 1 – Today the residents of Railroad Town are planning to shop for the weekend and gathering all they need for meals and more.
  • Friday, July 2 – Let’s get this place cleaned up! Today the residents of Railroad Town are dusting, beating the rugs and giving the place a good cleaning.
  • Saturday, July 3 – It’s foodways day! Check our historic homes to see what’s cooking (or what we’re planning to cook).
  • Sunday, July 4 – Most Sundays are for resting, but this week we’re celebrating Independence Day, 1890s style! Join us for an anvil firing at noon near the rural church, try your hand at our vintage “base ball” game, watch the parade at 2 p.m. (kids are welcome to be a part of the parade!), listen to a patriotic concert and program, and run some races and play games with us, too!
  • Monday, July 5 – It seems as though the laundry pile never ends, and Mondays are a perfect day to wash those dirty clothes!
  • Tuesday, July 6 – Ironing was a chore back in the 1890s and looked very different than it does today. Our interpreters will show you how.
  • Wednesday, July 7 – Darn! It’s “Sewing, Mending and Knitting” day in Railroad Town. See what projects are happening around town.
  • Thursday, July 8 – Today the residents of Railroad Town are planning to shop for the weekend and gathering all they need for meals and more.
  • Friday, July 9 – Today the residents of Railroad Town will be dusting, beating the rugs and giving the place a good cleaning.
  • Saturday, July 10 – It’s foodways day! Check out the historic homes to see what’s cooking (or what we’re planning to cook).
  • Sunday, July 11 – What did a restful Sunday look like in the 1890s? Find out as our interpreters engage in their favorite “Sunday Pastimes”.
  • Monday, July 12 – Today’s the day to tackle that pile of laundry again. Have you ever washed clothes using a washboard?
  • Tuesday, July 13 – Ironing was a chore back in the 1890s and looked very different than it does today. Our interpreters will show you how.
  • Wednesday, July 14 – Darn! It’s “Sewing, Mending and Knitting” day in Railroad Town. See what projects are happening around town.
  • Thursday, July 15 – Today the residents of Railroad Town are planning to shop for the weekend and gathering all they need for meals and more.
  • Friday, July 16 – Let’s get this place cleaned up! Today the residents of Railroad Town are dusting, beating the rugs and giving the place a good cleaning.
  • Saturday, July 17 – What a day in Railroad Town! We’ve heard rumors of a hobo camp set up near the depot and baking is happening around town.
  • Sunday, July 18 – The hobos are still here and ready to talk to you about their lives. The residents of Railroad Town will also be taking a restful day and engaging in their favorite “Sunday Pastimes”.
  • Monday, July 19 – It’s laundry day! Help us wash and dry linens, without electricity!
  • Tuesday, July 20 – Ironing was a chore back in the 1890s and looked very different than it does today. Our interpreters will show you how.
  • Wednesday, July 21 – Darn! It’s “Sewing, Mending and Knitting” day in Railroad Town. See what projects are happening around town.
  • Thursday, July 22 – Today the residents of Railroad Town are planning to shop for the weekend and gathering all they need for meals and more.
  • Friday, July 23 – Let’s get this place cleaned up! Today the residents of Railroad Town are dusting, beating the rugs and giving the place a good cleaning.
  • Saturday, July 24 – It’s foodways day! Check out the historic homes to see what’s cooking (or what we’re planning to cook).
  • Sunday, July 25 – What did a restful Sunday look like in the 1890s? Find out as our interpreters engage in their favorite “Sunday Pastimes”.
  • Monday, July 26 – Today’s the day to tackle that pile of laundry again. Have you ever washed clothes using a washboard?
  • Tuesday, July 27 – Ironing was a chore back in the 1890s and looked very different than it does today. Our interpreters will show you how.
  • Wednesday, July 28 – Darn! It’s “Sewing, Mending and Knitting” day in Railroad Town. See what projects are happening around town.
  • Thursday, July 29 – Today the residents of Railroad Town are planning to shop for the weekend and gathering all they need for meals and more.
  • Friday, July 30 – Let’s get this place cleaned up! Today the residents of Railroad Town are dusting, beating the rugs and giving the place a good cleaning.
  • Saturday, July 31 – It’s foodways day! Check out the historic homes to see what’s cooking (or what we’re planning to cook).

Plan Your Visit

Stuhr Museum, Creating Immersive Experience
7 Days A Week | 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

RAILROAD TOWN
4th of July Parade
Play
EnglishEspañolAfsoomaaliBasa Sunda简体中文DeutschFrançaisአማርኛالعربية